shotshell crow loads?

22cat

anybody got any "great" crow loads they would be willing to share? talking about 60yrd crow blower uppers. I was thinking about some baby mag duplex loads of 4 or fives mixed with some 7 or 7.5 shot. [beeep] i have no experience with duplex loads. my crows around home are all crow shy and wise to decoys and electronic calls. they stay out there. cant use rifles on them around here ether
sneaky2.gif
thanks

Originally Posted By: 22catanybody got any "great" crow loads they would be willing to share? talking about 60yrd crow blower uppers. I was thinking about some baby mag duplex loads of 4 or fives mixed with some 7 or 7.5 shot. [beeep] i have no experience with duplex loads. my crows around home are all crow shy and wise to decoys and electronic calls. they stay out there. cant use rifles on them around here ether
sneaky2.gif
thanks

Most serious crow shooters use 9s and shoot them at 25yards... I can't get them in that close - I use 3" 12ga and 7-1/2s. It works pretty good.

I would not go larger than 6s, cuz crows are not very big after you take off the feathers.

7.5 shot is all you need. I usually use a 3&1/4 dram behind 1&1/8 oz 7.5's & kill crows very consistantly. I've used anything from BB's to 9 shot & the 7.5's with a light mod/modified choke work best for all around. I've even lucked up & killed a few ~60yards with the 7.5's on hail mary shots with the light loads.

If you were wanting the best, you could go 3&3/4 dram of 1& 1/4 oz 7.5 shot, 6's at the largest (although 4's can work well with a tight enough choke, your just giving up a lot). Most guys will kill MANY more with 8's & an IC than #4's & a full.