17 Rem Barrel Options

[/quote]
J.Mark,,,, no need for caps. We're all adults here.
Every one has their own idea about things, but anyone that has any experience with actually lapping barrels (not just read about it on the Internet or in a gun rag) will tell you lapping needs to be done with a lead slug BEFORE
wink.gif
any cambering or muzzle work. Using abrasives on a patch will do more harm to the sharp edges of the lands than the smoothing out tool marks or what ever you're trying to smooth out.[/quote]

Sorry about the caps I hit the button by mistake and was to lazy to retype.My gun smith bore scoped my 22-250 and told me to use jb paste.Kindler told me that in 17's its very important to long accurate life.As for lapping with a lead slug I know nothing.Im no expert on the technical stuff.I sure don't want to damage my guns.I dont cosider competent gunsmiths to be equal to reading on the internet or gun rags though.If you can't believe the advice of a highly regarded smith than who do you believe?

Mr. RePete gave a very good description and account of how and why some members of the BR crowd started using Lock-Ease years ago as a last step in barrel cleaning.

One point that was not mentioned is the fact that L-E contains a rust inhibitor, and when you "paint" a barrel with it as the last step in cleaning, it does a great job of protecting a barrel from rust until the barrel is used again.

L-E is gone from a barrel after one or two shots are fired, so it is not like a barrel treatment or bullet application. Every cleaning requires a re-painting to get all of it's collective benefits.