What calipers should I buy?

Centurion

I've been shopping for calipers without success. Does anyone have favorite calipers they like? Also, does anyone know where I can find some? I want to use a bullet comparator with them to size my reloads. Thanks for any info.

I have gotten several sets in various sizes from Harbor Frieght. They work great. They served me well, and I was a machinist for a while.

Kevlars

Like most things you get what you pay for.
Mitutoyo, Brown & Sharp, and Starrett are the best. I would recommend dial type over digital type.
I prefer Mitutoyo myself

mitutoyo, Brown and Sharpe dial, Starrett Dial

I would urge you to shop local pawn shops to look for where retired machinists have sold all their tools.

the Mitutoyo can be had used for around $79 or so, heck of a caliper.

The older Brown and Sharpe that has jeweled mechanism just makes you go, "SWEET" every time you use them!

The Mit will stay on 9 months or more if you do not turn them off.

Last edited:

Thanks for all the info guys. I appreciate it. I'm pretty broke now after getting so much stuff for reloading. After checking my funds I guess I'm going to have to go with one of the cheaper stainless ones.

I have a digital that keeps giving me various readings on reset and ordered an inexpensive dial caliper from Midway Arms (about $30) for use on my bench...For what I do, they are very adequate....Easy to lock without loosening and smooth to operate...

Maybe if I were doing more precise machine work, I'd could justify more money, but measuring to .0000 is close enough for me...

Originally Posted By: OldTurtleI have a digital that keeps giving me various readings on reset and ordered an inexpensive dial caliper from Midway Arms (about $30) for use on my bench...For what I do, they are very adequate....Easy to lock without loosening and smooth to operate...