Winchester 94 30-30 questions

brained

Hey fellas,

Been seeing a lot about lever 30-30 guns around here lately and this brings me to my questions.

I've got a Win mod 94 that, according to online serial number look-up was built in '65.

Ive done a little research regarding differences in the pre and post '64 model 94's and understand that the pre '64's are more desirable.

Im wondering what determining factors distinguish the 2, pre and post '64.

I've read the ones made before '64 have steel butt plates and after they switched to plastic. My supposed '65 has a steel butt plate... I don't have a doubt this is a factory butt plate... I'm thinking there was some over lapping in parts during the transitional period.

Wondering what one is worth, pre vs post '64 in same condition, let's say average condition.

Thanks in advance.

Edit:

Was proof steel marked on the barrel pre or post '64, or was there not a change in this during the transition?

Last edited:
I am no expert in 94s, but I know that Winchester has a history of useing up the parts they had on hand...I think most gun companies were like this...the changes we assume were on certain dates, were flexable at best. This length barrel, that lever loop. the bolt bent at this or that angle this checkering pattern...from the playing, buying, selling and admiring I have done, I have seen most of the rules for dates based on this or that feature or stamping is not set in stone, but more likely general guidelines.

So a '65 with a metal butplate could happen...or a barrel stamped with 3 lines instead of 2 or whatever...based on what was laying around in the way of parts...