Hornady Dies

beller

I purchased a set of Hornady Custom Grade dies for my 308. The sizing die seems to be extremely hard to get the shell to go into. Once you do get the shell to go over the football shaped expander and deprimed, it is even harder to get the shell to exit the die. I set the die up according to the instructions and the zip spindle is set so that the deprimer pin is set at the proper length below the bottom of the die. I checked the length of each case before runnning them through the die and they were all right on the money, after runnning them through the die they all came out just a shade to long. The die actually stretched the cases, maybe this is supposed to happen, but none of the other dies I have do this. I'm new at reloading and ain't really sure, but this just don't seem right. Does anyone out there have any suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong or as to what I need to do? I'm using once fired Federal brass. I know that this probably ain't the best brass but I have quite a bit of it and it's what I've already got, without having to hunt for and buy new. Thanks

You may have already done this but, did you clean the dies before using? Most dies come with a coat of grease for rust protection. Just a thought.

What type of lube are you using? If you have not cleaned the die then do so. I know that when I am resizing 243 cases I have to give them a little more lube on the neck and shoulder area otherwise they are super tough.

Deaddog, you must have posted while I was typing, I use the RCBS case lube. I don't lube the inside of the neck, as this would affect the powder, but I think this is where my problem lies. Thanks

You can use mica or graphite lubes for inside the neck lubrication for sizing. Polishing the mandrel may help also.