coyote hunting in central missouri

centralMOguy

I am new to coyote hunting and need some advice. Me and a buddy are based out of Sedalia MO and have been trying hard to start calling in coyotes. We are using a foxpro wildfire and have tried everything from different coyote vocalizations to distress calls of all sorts without having any luck. We have watched different calling shows and stuff trying to see how guys are doing it but still no luck. We usually sit anywhere from 15-30min and try to play the wind. Any tips pointers and advice would be amazing! We really wanna get in on the yote killing. We also make trips to NE MO and southern MO hunting

I am actually having better luck with hand calls at this point in the season. Only using ecaller for finishing call.

Howls mixed with some barks. Pup distress blended into rabbit distress. Ecaller hot button set for rodent distress.

Sets on ridges with some cover here in Mo (1st season in Mo as moved in July); ecaller upwind, crosswind and in edge of cover with decoy below me is ideal.

Unlike Ks, I have not had success calling Mo Yates into open areas.

So is it better to hunt woods versus open fields? We have mostly been setting up on the edges or fields and pastures using the elevation when we can in our favor. Do most guys use shotguns or rifles in Missouri? We are really trying to get this figured out.