Coyote Hunting in Wisconsin

gostovp

Hi, I had this posted in the Calling in the East forum before I saw this one ....

Total newbie here! Been lurking on the site for awhile and have just started to post some questions...

Any tips for hunting coyote in Western WI? I'm new to predator hunting but the bug has bitten me hard...I called in a pair one time (and missed due to coyote fever) and it was like getting a big 10 point buck within bow range!!!
Anyway, my hunting partner and I have had little luck in our other setups..the areas we hunt have coyotes, we hear them and see tracks all the time...
In Western WI it is primarily a mix of ag with small 40 to 100 acre woodlots...should we be primarily be setting up in the thick stuff in the woodlots w/ shotguns or on the field edges w/ rifles (note, the pair I did call in was in some thick pines in late morning...if that tells you anything ...also, what calls should I be using this time of year? I have a FoxPro Wildfire that I got for a great deal and it has all your basic prey distress calls on it..but what about coyote challenges, howls, and pup in distress calls? How would those be used in conjunction w/ the prey calls?
What about hunting at night? We have pretty good snow cover right now and were thinking some hunting in the evening might be good...shotguns or rifles for at night?...more field edge setups at night? Here in WI we can't scan with a light, but we can turn it on 'at the point of kill' meaning we can shine right when we are going to shoot. What about a typical daytime calling sequence vs a nighttime calling sequence?

Thanks in advance for all your help!!!

Hi welcome to the site.. I would say your best bet would be to messege Rob424, he and his boy seem to have of down pat pretty good. My dad has some land in Vernon county and when I can make it over there..rabbit in distress sounds seem to work also I've had luck with woodpecker and bluejay in distress. If nothing else just keep at it. Goodluck to ya