lee classic

alienx

Let me start out by apologizing for this stupid question but just ordered the lee classic for 22-250 and the little yellow powder scoop that comes with it will that work for any loany powder load and is it a max load with it or what

It goes by volume and not weight, a lot of inconsistencies I would imagine. Does it come with any info on the powder they used to design the dipper?

I use mine when I'm working up test loads and trickling the rest in the scale pan...It makes getting the bulk of the powder charge easier to handle and then trickling the remainder lets me get each charge precise...

After I develop the optimum charges and test them at the range, I'll go ahead and set my powder dispenser for bulk loading...

Get a powder thrower and a beam scale😉. Use the dipper for trickling and nothing else. The Lee perfect powder measure is cheap and consistant if money is a issue.

Originally Posted By: alienxYeah im new to reloading and will prob annoy some with too mamy questions

We all had to start with not knowing anything about reloading, don't be afraid to ask questions... the dumbest question is the one you don't ask.

I will share any and all my experiences and knowledge with anyone who wants to know it. I learned reloading from old timers who had been doing it since the 40's, 50's.

As for the powder dipper I haven't used them they just seemed too possibly inaccurate for me. If it was me i'd buy a nice inexpensive powder thrower, say RCBS off eBay or somewhere and get a decent scale, that is a solid starting point, but a scale is a MUST!

I'll second the nod to the lee perfect powder measure. the one I have is eerily accurate. When I'm doing load development I'll weigh each charge. The LPM is seldom off ... at all, but if it is, it's by a couple of "kernels" of 8208 (small fractions of 1/10th of a grain).