coyotes dont howl in alaska?

rimfirematt

Why dont I hear coyotes up here? I heard one last year by the airport, but thats it. I have been camping out here for 20 years and I have never heard them. How bout you guys?

The few yotes I've came arcoss here in the Brrrrr land (Interior)...I haven't heard any either.

My theroy is: That it's better to keep quiet to aviod competition for food. Let's face it there are too many other critters out there that love to steal and eat anothers find. Wolves, Bears, Ravens other unwanted yotes, lynx, ect. Like I said "Just a theroy."

But I am sure there is plenty of howling when they want or getting their GROOVE on. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

This year my last 2 hunting/camping trips the coyotes were howling like crazy. But prior to that I had never them. It seems strange to me also considering back in PA they yip and howl every chance they get.

I also have never heard coyotes howling, even though I've stumbled upon a group of them eating dying dog salmon in a slough off the Knik River.

I have, however, heard wolves howling. Not here in Mat-Su, but along the Yukon-Koyokuk drainages. They howled regularly, singularly and in groups, day and night.

I have heard them for years if they were in the area. From Seward to Mat Valley, and mostly late in the evenings untill early mornings.

I also think when wolves are in the area they are less likely to make a lot of racket.

JMO

Todd

That's probably the reason. They aren't the top of the food chain here...they are prey as well as predator.

Gonna try my loudmouth tonight. Hope to give a good tryout for fox. I'll let you know. What do you think...12 guage for fox at night or 22?

yeah I second the 12 guage. Ok here is another thought. How about howling for coyotes? especially in conjuction with rabbit distress? I have howled a few time but no luck... However I dont put much stock in that cause I dont have any luck anyhow