minnesota success

timmy140

This is my first year hunting I have done about 25 sets caled in four coyotes and killed three. Just wondering. How the minnesota boys are doing this year. Kinda thought. I would start a minnesota story board lol.

12 sets seen 2 no shots. Have run a couple out as walking into sets. Havn't been out as much as I would like and lack of snow isn't going to make that any easier!!

Originally Posted By: timmy140This is my first year hunting I have done about 25 sets caled in four coyotes and killed three. Just wondering. How the minnesota boys are doing this year. Kinda thought. I would start a minnesota story board lol.

Let me start of by saying that's pretty good, congratulations.

I added up all of your guys stands, and kills so far this season, and did some quick math on your coyote situation. So far, those of you who have contributed to this post have made 93 sets, called in 17 coyotes, and killed 7. Your overall success rate has been 1 coyote killed for every 13.28 stands, or roughly 7.5%. You have been seeing more coyotes than you have been killing of course, and are calling in a dog about 17.5% of the time, which is once in every 5.5 stands. Your kill ratio leaves a little to be desired, at 41%. At current rates 59 out of 100 coyotes will evade you, even after having been spotted.

Having hunted yotes in MN for almost two decades, I would say you boys are doing well enough, all things considered, and probably slightly above average for most callers. Is it worth it? Only you can answer that for yourself.

Good hunting.

My results are in my signature. All 3 I saw and killed were in one stand. Haven't been out since first of the year. [beeep] flu! Hoping to get out this weekend. Some snow would be nice.
frown.gif