looking to get started reloading

spkennels

Just wondering how hard it is to learn to reload never done it and dont have anyone that i know that does but thanking dont know if it is worth time to learn by doing or just reading thanks for your thoughts

Like someone told me when I started, "You'll save money". He lied! Reloading is a wonderful thing. Very enjoyable loading for each particular rifle and pistol. Get into reloading to expand you shooting capabilities, it's not difficult but you will always be learning. I've been reloading for over 30 years. An old friend gave me a pacific press that had to have been made in the 40's. I still use it to this day, along with the Dillon progressive.....:)

I would 1st get a fairly current reloading manual & start reading. Then I'd make it easy on yourself starting out, maybe some simple 38 Spcl loads.

If you use new cases for your 1st rifle loads you eliminate a lot of potential problems(sizing/fit).

You can learn on your own, I did many years ago. A fair amount of larger sporting goods stores also offer or know of reloading classes in your area.

However you start,go slow and cross check everything. For most shooting, 'max power loads' aren't needed.

Thanks for the help will get started looking is pistol,shotgun, or rifle a good place to start get all the shot shells i want

... start saving your money.

lol.gif

Really though, don't be afraid of reloading because you're without having someone to show you 1st hand. I was in the same position. I have been self-taught up to this point. Right or wrong I have had awesome results. Reloaded ammo is custom tailored for your individual rifle, resulting in much more accurate ammo. It is a simple matter of paying attention to details & being able to follow instructions. Always remember that things can go bad very quickly and keep a clear mind when reloading. You will do fine! Start reading and when your done ... read some more.

Good Luck.