Going predator calling tommorow

rimfirematt

Hello, I just joined this forum, doing some research for tommorows attempt at calling. I bought a sceery snowshoe in distress call
and a mouse squeeker. I'm new at this stuff but I think I have a good idea of how its done.
I just got a marlin 17vs, tasco varmint scope, harris bipod and a new trigger job. I have
lots of rounds through this gun and I am comfident that I can put a fox or coyote down with it.
I am thinking about going up around sutton, what do you guys think? Also if any body wants to show the newbie
the ropes of this game let me know! Regards, matt from anchorage

Howdy Matt . . .

There are some Coyotes in the Sutton area. The .17 HMR is a Fantastic cartridge --- BUT -- it IS a rimfire. Fine on fox --- and will cold-cock Coyotes under 100 yds. with a boiler room or neck hit (spinal only), but NEVER shoot them in the ball joint! Even with those parameters, its VERY marginal on a Coyote. You want to place that little 17 gr. bullet SURGICALLY Every time. That is KEY.

Good luck calling, and before you go ... get that bipod off that rifle; for calling purposes its off balance on the swing and a hinderance.

Let us know how you did. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Cas