New to predator hunting What is a good rifle?

Socal hunter

I am new to predator hunting. I ahave done alot of big game in the past. I have large caliber rifles. I know very little about predators though. I have shot a few coyote but with a 375 H&H it makes a little mess of the pelt. What is a good rifle/caliber/scope combo to use. I have no preferance to brand.

Socal-
I personally use a .223 w/varmint barrel. This might be a good thing to post in the "firearms" forum, as everybody has their own personal choice as to rifles & optics. Somebody there will know how to get a scope mounted on your AR15, I have seen them, but can't exactly remember how it's done.

Howdy;
Why not give a little thought to how big a coyote is, then ask yourself, "Why do I need a scope". Most folks can bounce a pop can around, offhand, at a hundred yards w/ an AR, so what's the problem?

But if you talk yourself into a scope, get a Leatherwood base (the type that fits the carrying handle, attaching w/ one screw) and a set of the lowest rings that will work with the scope of your choice. The easiest way would be to buy one of the scopes made for the AR, with the base built in; no rings necessary, just the one bolt holds it on. They have the advantage also of having bullet drop compensation built in. Don't know if Colt still makes them (made in Japan, actually), but that would be a good bet. I'd stay away from the really cheap Chinese numbers, but I've not tried them, so that opinion is based on common sense. There, wasn't that fun? Go for it!

Originally posted by SidL:
Most folks can bounce a pop can around, offhand, at a hundred yards w/ an AR, so what's the problem?