Savage axis or 11 hunter Xp

whitey21

Looking for a light carry gun to replace my heavy barrel savage. There is about a hundred bucks difference between the two. I have no experience with these two, and I was looking for some advice from owners. I'm not looking for a long range, .25 moa rifle. Just a good hunting rifle.

How about a light weight hunting rifle that will shoot 1/4" groups and cost around 300$ new. My Savage Edge in 223 does and the Axis is just a different name, same rifle.

Originally Posted By: gumboot458How about a light weight hunting rifle that will shoot 1/4" groups and cost around 300$ new. My Savage Edge in 223 does and the Axis is just a different name, same rifle.

That'll do. I know my savage shoots good and it was $500. I wasn't for sure how good the cheaper ones were. As long as they are sub moa.

I've been having troubles with my p bucket accnt. If I can get into it I'll post a pic of a target or 2 . .
The Edge stock is kinda weird. But it has seemed to grow on me. I would like to put a laminate target stock on my rifle. But. No one makes one and a gunsmith would want 500$ to stock it.

I've been having troubles with my p bucket accnt. If I can get into it I'll post a pic of a target or 2 . .
The Edge stock is kinda weird. But it has seemed to grow on me. I would like to put a laminate target stock on my rifle. But. No one makes one and a gunsmith would want 500$ to stock it.

I am one for the Axis (Edge). I have two one in 22-250 for varmints and one in 308 for hunting and shooting at the range.

HPIM0690.jpg

Prairie dog shooter

RSG

Just bought dad a 22-250 Axis for Christmas out of the box shoots 1/2 inch groups at 100 yards. And that is with the cheap 3-9x40 Bushnell that comes with combo package.

You have to dig into what you're getting for the $100 and if that matters to you.

I have a Savage Axis in .223. An excellent rifle and one of the best performance for $ cost shooters out there.