Bushmaster Varminter Bullet Weight Question

TCRay

I have a Bushmaster Varninter. I have missed 2 coyotes with it this season. I have a good Burris 4-12x42 on it. It doesn't seem to keep great groups. The twist is 1:9.

Dies anyone have some advice on bullet weight and /or brand that worjs well for them?

Thanks!
Tom

Originally Posted By: TCRayI have a Bushmaster Varninter. I have missed 2 coyotes with it this season. I have a good Burris 4-12x42 on it. It doesn't seem to keep great groups. The twist is 1:9.

Dies anyone have some advice on bullet weight and /or brand that worjs well for them?

Thanks!
Tom

That rifle SHOULD shoot a bunch of different bullets plenty good. At least plenty good enough to hit coyotes.

If it's *not keeping great groups*, I doubt it is the bullet you are shooting. Could be lots of other things though.

What bullet are you shooting?

Thanks for the feedback. I have shot 60, 62, 68 and 69 grain of different makers. None keep a tight group.

My scope mount is a LaRue Tactical. My scope is a Burris 4-12x42 with Mil-spec reticle and rangefinder. It has good, clear optics.

I put a small rubber device between the lower and upper receiver that I purchased through Brownells to take out any "slop".

I am not a bad shot. I had a really nice Savage 110 FP and could keep dime and nickle-size groups at 100 yards easy.

It seems that the Bushmaster just isn't being consistent with any load. I am about ready to send it to the manufacturer for them to look at it.

try some lighter bullets first. My varminter loved the winchester 45 gr jhp. you have a 9 twist so it should shine with 40's thru 60.

I got an AR-15 too. I remembered the day I got it..after I left the rifle range with it, knew it wasn't accurate like my 308 is.
mad.gif
after I spent $1000.00 ...Its a battle rifle, with a hard trigger pull. nuff said
thumbdown.gif