Bobcat hound?

ryanx

Hey guys, I am from northern PA and my parents property has a good amount of bobcats on it my dad and I usually catch between 3-5 cats on our property which is about 350 acres. I am interesting in getting a dog some kind to run and tree them with. The catch is I have no experience with this. I am currently in college and not planning on getting a dog for a couple of years. So if you guys can just start me for step one and show me where to start when I can get to this. Any help is greatly appreciated!

I think you need to start on telling us what you are looking for. A good bobcat dog will cost you anywhere between $5,000 and $15,000. And why not with the price of bobcats a guy can make that much off a good bobcat dog, then why would he sell the dog.
I wouldn't take $15,000 for this dog but my wife says I am stupid too, I might even agree with her.

2jb5ele.jpg

You can deplete an area of bobcats. It can take anywhere up to 5 years for them to replentish in an overharvested area.

Devin I started trapping around Craig in the early 70s....

In pa we have a set season for when we can harvest a bobcat either hunting or trapping and we haven't been able to catch one during the season and I am the only trapper in the area so there has never been a cat taken from my area. I don't want to spend a lot money, remember I am broke college student. I don't know what I really want in details. There are some guys who run coons with blue ticks and walkers would one them work?

Like I said no one is going to get rid of a good bobcat dog cheap. With the fur prices topping the scales at $,1400 + last year and fur prices expected to be the same or a bit more, you can see why people would hold on to a good bobcat dog.