Gotta love them new guys

SnowmanMo

Administrator
Staff member
I am a Post Secondary Instructor for heavy truck repair. Our school has a strict policy against fraternization between students and staff. However, once graduated, the policy ends, so I keep an open invite to ALL of my technicians.

This weekend AzBushman and I had the opportunity to take out a recent grad, Tom. Tom, as you can see, is prior military(army) and was one of my favorite technicians. He has a work ethic that is amazing, coming early, staying late, doing extra work, everything that I could ask. So when he graduated Friday, we jumped at the chance.

Sunday's hunt report was not spectacular, so I decided to take Bushman and Tom up North of Phoenix into an area that I felt had a lot of promise. It is rocky and brushy and I took a bobcat out of the area a few weeks back, and saw a LOT of sign. Our first couple of frigid stand(32 deg), saw no takers to the calls. Our third and fourth resulted in some random hikers showing up. The winds were coming up a little, and we had more and more people sightings in our first area, so we decided to drop back and punt, and run to a new area a little further in.

Stand 6 held a lot of promise, but again no takers. We did however notice that the tracks on the road and trails showed a lot of movement in the direction that the wind was coming in from, so Bushman and I decided to go with that, and headed toward these rocks in the distance:
IMG_2598.jpg

We found a cattle watering hole, and dropped the truck behind the brush, and moved along the water hole fence line toward our rocks.
Tomfoxstandoverhead.jpg