22 mag SHOTShell for Rattlers?

Cold

I have no experience with this so help please

Will a 22 mag shotshell down a rattler? Im in Texas and hunt in and around Albany, the snakes can get big, will the 22 mag Shotshell do the job?

Havent used bird shot in a small round. I shot a rattlesnake about 3 to 4 feet in length with 44 birdshot this summer. I followed up with hollow points and they seemed to work alot better. SO if your a steady shot, I would stick with hollows. MY 2 cents!

the bird shot out of the rimfires arent really all that good they dont have enough power to kill a little sparrow at like 5 foot so yea hollow points would be alot better.

I ve killed about 3 pick up loads of rattle snakes with an old ruger single six 4 5/8 in barrel with .22 mag bird shot. I actually put the stuff on a pattern board at 10 yards and it did way better outta a short handgun barrel than outta my rifles.shot a couple with .45 shot loads they work good to but if I know there is a snake in my future I grab my handy little .410 shotgun
its a snake killin wizbang JB

Cold, there was an article in one of the gun mags, maybe 2-3 years ago, about the bird shot (snake shot) rounds. Upshot was, pistols are much better than rifles, pattern-wise; 22 cals patterned better than larger calibers (maybe because they use #12 shot instead of #9); and pattern spread tends to be about 1 inch of spread per foot of range (kinda makes it a real short-range proposition, maybe 12-15 feet, and 8 is probably better!). Hope this helps!
Mark

COLD: pattern your 22 mag 'snake loads' on a piece of cardboard at whatever distance you might shoot one at. i've found that 22 LR shot loads spread rapidly, and the pattern thins out quickly. dunno about 22 mag loads.