2012 Take No Prisoners Hunt

Timberbeast7

The anticipation of hunting season had been building all summer and had me chomping at the bit. My wife and I had purchased our first wall tent and stove (no more borrowing tents and freezing evenings at camp!) and even though we didn’t draw the plethora of tags we had last year we each had an antelope, deer, elk, and wolf tag in our pocket. I was also itching to get some action with my new .243 and spend time in the field with my wife.

photo-7.jpg

(Photo of our camp, we were breaking down in this pic so the stovepipe is already taken down)

The area we hunt has been very productive for us. Last year we each killed two antelope and two deer, and I have been shooting coyotes in the area for several years. Although we had elk tags we don’t really go “elk hunting”, we are what my wife calls opportunistic elk hunters (even though her dream hunt is to kill a big bull elk). I got burned out a few years ago on elk hunting after conflicts ranging from other hunters trying to steal my kill to constantly having hunts ruined by ATV riding “hunters”. I’ve never seen a wolf our hunting area but there are several cases of them killing livestock in the area over the years so I’m always vigilant in looking for that “really big looking coyote” in the distance.