Scope for 25-06 I have $300-400

Well I just got my Ruger 25-06 with a heavy barrel. I have 300-400 to spend on a scope. What would you get. I want to shoot at least out to 400 yards with it.

From someone who has Nikon Buckmasters (6-18x side focus) that money gets you an Elite 4200 6-24x. No comparison.

If you like the 4.5-14x range Pentax Whitetail Hunter is the same exact scope as the $500 Burris Fullfield II and can be had for about $240 from Fox optics.

Buckmaster 4.5 x 14 with Mil Dot or Weaver Grand Slams are good values in your price range. Weaver glass is awesome.

I have a Buckmasters 6-18x40 BDC on my Ruger heavy M77 25/06. It works fine for me to shoot out to 400-500 yards. A 100 yard zero, using 120gr Fusion, with the scope on 18x, the references are pretty darn close. I wouldn't say I love the BDC reticle, some people hate them, but I don't find it difficult to use.

I think your best bet is to stay with Nikon, Weaver, Burris, Leopold, etc., and go look at several of them and then choose the one you like best. All make decent glass and have good warranties.

Last edited:
I was in the same boat a while back and chose the Vortex Viper 4-12X40. I really, really like it and would buy it again. You can get one from Joe Bob's within your budget.

woodguru said:
From someone who has Nikon Buckmasters (6-18x side focus) that money gets you an Elite 4200 6-24x. No comparison.

This. I've got this scope sitting in my closet. Been on a few rifles and I love it. It's goin on my 25-06 I'm getting tomorrow

i would good nikon monarch i got mine for 370 i also have a buckmaster nikon they great scopes for the money i couple leages over them nightforce scopes but they in the 1500 to 1900 range and dont need them for 400 yrds

Cabela's has Zeiss Conquest 3-9x40 on sale for $279.00 with free shipping right now. It's tough to beat that scope with $500 to spend.