Badger Hunting

Montana Badger

I'm new to varmint hunting. Have only hunted gophers (Richardson ground squirrels). I would like to get into hunting badgers. I know some guys have been successful in calling them out during day light hours, but I don't know what equipement is needed & how to go about calling them out. Has anyone out there hunted badgers? What caliber rifle would you use? Any special techniques?

I shot a badger in the forehead with a .223 at 200 yards just last week. Landowner asked me to. It was a nursing mother. Didn't make me feel real good but the landowner was happy. Badgers are hard to find. Mainly because of the amount of territory we have here in Montana. Seems like anywhere there's lots of gophers you could set up and see what happens. Coyotes, foxes, and badger might all show up.

Mike

I located an area where there are a lot of gophers & badgers. Many of the ranchers in the area invite you onto their property to shoot gophers. They would also like to have the badgers shot. So locating them is not a problem, getting them out of the hole to shoot them is.

Just out of curiosity, due to the fact that the badger preys upon the ground squirrels, why would farmers want to get rid of badgers? Is it because of their burrowing?

Badgers make much larger holes which are more damaging to equipment & livestock, especially when the fields are infested with badgers. I'm talking a lot of big holes with mounds of dirt a foot or more high around at the entrance of the hole.

One rancher named a new road he just put in "Badger Road" because he had a badger drill a hole right in the middle of it shortly after it was done.