Quickload question for 300WSM

DynamicAVP

Can someone help me out. I have been reloading for a couple years and I make no claims to be any where near an expert.

I reloaded for my 300WSM, a Winchester M70, Hornady 180grain SST, Federal Brass, 66 grains of RE-17, CCI200 primer, COAL of 2.262 which should be about .003" of the lands.

The end result was a .303" group at 3086fps average. Is this a safe load? I am more about accuracy than speed.

Yes I did start at a lower charge and worked up. I dont think I see any obvious signs of over-pressure.

I am interested in what people "who know", or have the ability to tell me if this load is safe to use.

Thanks for all the help.

No experience with that particular load. I use a similar charge of IMR 4350 for 150 gr bullets. Your velocity matches some factory load data. If you aren't seeing pressure signs and such, should be ok.

According to Alliant, that is the MAX load, and you are 20-ish FPS faster than listed max load.

So you are there.

Thanks for the responses. I was in a hurry to get a load so after I got that great load, which happened to be my last test load, I went home and made 10 more for my hunt this weekend. I am a little skeptical of the load, so i will work backwards in .2 grains until I get a good group and not so much at MAX. I tested those loads in about 85 degree weather, its not unusual to hunt in 90+ heat here in Idaho so I'ld lake to have a little more head room.

On a side note I e-mailed Allaint and they stated the load should be OK but I still plan on backing it off a little if I can keep that great accuracy.

Thanks for all the help.

Originally Posted By: DynamicAVP
I reloaded for my 300WSM, a Winchester M70, Hornady 180grain SST, Federal Brass, 66 grains of RE-17, CCI200 primer, COAL of 2.262 which should be about .003" of the lands.

I think you've provided a comparator length on that OAL figure. If you'll post a valid OAL I can run QL for you.