savage 11 trophy hunter xp

eddieg

Hey guys im new to coyote hunting and need a good gun to start out with. Im on a budget and cant spend more than $550. I want a 223 and thought the savage 11 trophy hunter xp is a good choice. If anybody has shot it or has any other suggestions please tell me. Thanks-eddie

Last edited:
Remington,howa,stevens,ruger all can be bought at that price but do you want new or used.I have shot one in 308 not a big fan felt cheap to me but also I'm not a big savage fan so take it for what it is worth.

I want a new one. i know ruger and remington make good guns but i dont know much about howa. do they make good accurate rifles?

Yes they do had a 22-250 heavy barrel-shot real well. Sold it; stupid move. Other guys will tell you the same thing.The one I had the action was butter smooth.Only thing I did not care for the hoge stock.Did't care for how sticky it was.

Savage model 11 trophy hunter in .243, comes with a Nikon 3-9x40 Prostaff. Retails for 499.99. 58gr v-max for coyotes and 100gr projectiles for whitetail and hogs, best of both worlds.

Chupa

The savage package model 11 .243 is $379 in this area and while i own a bunch of .223's i would go with the model 11 .243 over the .223, simply because it gives you more options when hunting and much more range. blue

I bought the exact combo, except for it being left-hand for $525 OTD. The rifle is a good shooter and the package scope is worth keeping. I love the Accutrigger and detachable magazine. All my other Savages are internal box and it can be a hassle loading and unloading the mag. I highly recommend this package. You may want to consider .22-250 and .243 also- they are available in the same package.