best coyote caliber

this topic is just as funny as ever when people talk about fur friendly rounds. All rounds I have shot in the last 30yrs of hunting nothing is a guaranteed fur friendly unless you are willing to shoot the 17 centers. I shot some and won't again as I had alot of runners. I shoot the 243s now with great success and I sell pelts, I use the 55gr Bts and yes they will tear one up if you don't place your shot properly. A 223 will also tear up pelts. My 243 is my hammer and I don't have runners and I will save over 90% of my furs, I say use what you want and figure what works for you. Everybody will have an opinion but yours is the only one that matters. Try some different bullets and see what is going to work for you. HAPPY HUNTING

My experience is from reloading and target shooting and deer hunting for almost 30 years. I'm new to coyote hunting. I own a 22-250 and have studied the balistics of it and the other 22s. The 220 Swift is a little faster for any given bullet weight, but has lots of cons. It is a long action and the rifle will be longer and a little heavyer. The extra speed the 220 Swift has over the 22-250 puts it just past the point of accelerated barrel burnning. The life of the acuracy will be less. 22-250s tend to group really tight and working up tight acurate loads is easer, and better then a 220 Swift.
Conpared to the other 22s ( 223,222 ect) the 22-250 is faster then all will have longer range flater tragectory, and is as accurate as any of them.
Compared to a 204 Ruger the Ruger is a little flater under 300 yards but the 22-250 is also real flat at 300 and can kill out to 450 or 500 yards. The Rugers best bullet weight is 40 grains going like 3900 to 4000 FPS. The best bullet weight for the 22-250 tends to be 55 grains going around 3500-3600. Those extra 15 grains of lead gives it alot extra range. Alec