Calling Sequence for an Electronic Caller

NEO Hunter

I am new to predator hunting and would like some advice on calling sequences. I have read that most people call for about 20-30 minues per setup and call for 2-3 minute bursts with mouth calls and rest a few minutes then continue. But what are most callers doing with electronic callers. Are you letting it run the whole set or are you muting it for a period of time? I picked up a FoxPro spitfire to start calling with while I learn the basics of varmint hunting. Thanks for all the advice on this subject and any other advise to help me learn is greatly appreciated.

Since you're new to predator hunting/calling, my advice would be to start the caller and PUT THE REMOTE DOWN. LEAVE THE REMOTE ALONE. Let the caller run constantly. HOLD VERY STILL. Concentrate on seeing an animal, not jacking around with the remote. Scan as far left/right as you can only using/moving your eyes. When moving your head or any other part of your body, do it SLOWLY.

If at all possible, move when the animal is not looking in your direction or when it passes by or behind something that helps block it's view of you.

I agree with Doggin!!!

I would also suggest going calling when the conditions are favorable - Such as cold weather = hungry coyotes!

The last thing you want to do is go out and not see anything coming to the call. It will ruin your investment and it will not be a pleasant experience and you will become frustrated.

I would wait until cold weather sets in and the coyotes are on the move for food.

Just my opinion!

Kevin

I concur with the above answers ^^^^.
You dont need to have it blasting the sounds out either.
Scan scan scan....think like a coyote, where/how would you approach the sound if you were a coyote.
Dont let not seeing one frustrate you, chances are they may have seen you.