A tale of two conpanies

bluealtered

I decided i needed another ar just because i guess, and since i work part time in a store with a great sporting goods department that stocks both new frontier lowers and redx uppers i went that way and got one of each.

The next morning i went to the range to start the breakin of both parts. The upper wouldn't feed from the mag so i fed it single shot, a little polishing would fix that when i got home. I was doing the one shot, clean one shot clean for the first ten rounds and on the tenth round the takedown pin came out in two pieces. (you can guess where the detent and spring went)

When i got home i emailed new frontier and explained what had happened, on their next business day they emailed back that new parts were on the way, and they got here the next day. In the mean time i pulled the ar apart to clean it and found the front pin was broken as well.

So i emailed them again and the part shows up, no problem. I had asked them on the first email if they had incountered this problem and they said no, let us know what happens.

Back to the range i go and ten rounds later i'm heading home again. This time both pins are broken and i'm not real happy. The pin fit on these two parts was the tightest i have had and had to use my little gunsmiths hammer to make them work. (that should have been clue one)

Another email to frontier and they say send it back, we'll send you a new lower. They did, overnight and like the parts before it was prepaid by them. Out to the range i go and i'm checking the pins every shot now, yep ten rounds and a broken rear pin.

I have read about some of the early models breaking pins but this is a new lower with the numbers way above that, (74**). I email them what had happened and they just haven't had this happen before but offer to send me steel pins if i want to try them.