calling lions

coyote12

I have been calling coyotes for about 8 years now. One of my goals however is to take a lion by calling it up. I have tried for two seasons now and with no success. Can anyone offer some suggestions. I usually hunt in areas where lions have been spotted or where they are killing livestock. I use both hand calls and electronic callers. I know it can be done. Just need to know if there are any special tricks that someone could share?

Not only can be done, but has been done and will be done again. No real big secrets to it. The hardest part about calling lions is to be where they are, when they are. Lions are roamers, and they cover a lot of real estate. Use the search function of this forum. There is a lot of information already on file here. If you are hunting where lions are known to be, and have killed livestock, that's half the battle. If you can find a real fresh kill, you should have it made. Keep at it, and you will connect.

fdc68727.jpg

I agree, the biggest problem is being in the same area as the lion. You need fresh sign, like either a kill or fresh tracks. Its best if you go after a recent snow. Lions can travel 20 or more miles a night so the fresh signs are almost vital. I start by finding fresh tracks and ill follow them until I see them heading into an area that looks like the lion might be denning in for the day. Around here they are usually up in the rocky mountain tops and overhangs. They like to see out over the terrain from where they are denning to watch for danger. Once I find a area that looks promising ill set up and start calling. I keep the tracks that I can see heading into the area to my front because there is a good chance that if the lion is up there it will take the same route back down.