San Bernardino Bear

Socal hunter

Anyone have any luck in san bernardino mts for bear. i am new to bear hunting. Would like a few hints on where to go. i am not asking for "secret spots" Just general areas. Thanks for the help

I am not sure that the San Bernadito MNTs are open for Bear. If not I would look towards the Kennedy Meadows area in the X10 area or D8 D9 areas. Plenty of bears in both areas and not far from where you live. I took two bears in the last two years in those zones.

I live in Ridgecrest about 1/2 hour from Kennedy meadows, and although there are bears there, I have heard of very many seen and taken in the Piuts! A friend of mine is a taxedermist and just got a bear from the Piuts, he estimated at 500lbs. The guy who shot it couldn't budge it and had to come back the next day. Unfortunately the condition of the hide was bad and even worse was the condition of the meat.

Try the Piuts!!!

socal i have scouted the san berdo's, or more specifically san gorgonio wilderness. there are alot of bears in the wilderness are but it is remote and VERY rugged and it is ONLY accessible by foot or horse. horses would be ideal for a hunt there. the area is about 6 to 7 miles from the trail head.