Dies for reloading for an AR rifle.

flyinlizard1

Ok I am very strongly thinking about buying my first AR rifle. Most likely a RRA or Bushy in .223rem. I have been reloading for 30+ years but never for a semi-auto. I assume that full length sizing is always required. While looking at dies I noticed some say they are designed for AR rifles and size the base smaller. Is that needed or will regular FL sizing dies work. Thanks in advance. Paul

Ok ,another question, I see them listed as 5.56 nato chamber and 5.56-.223 chamber. Whats the differance and are they interchange able?

Flyin,
I'll try not to screw this up, but the chamber size of the 5.56 and .223 are different in terms of length. You can shoot both the 5.56 and .223 round in an AR, but if you try and shoot a 5.56 in a .223 chamber, you could be in for some serious trouble. Thats because the throat in a .223 is actually shorter than the 5.56 throat and your pressures would be way there in the shorter chamber. As for the dies, personally I'd go with the AR specific dies that MIGHT give you a little better overall accuracy. And I'd be using Redding Dies as I do in my son's AR becuase of their repuation for better resizing the base of the casing than other dies that don't resize the base quite as much to original chamber specs. Hope that helps some.

Shynloco, I do use redding dies for my 6.5 x 47 lapua pistol, very happy with them. So no matter what chamber I have,5.56 0r .223 if I stick with .223 cartridges I should be safe, correct?

I full length resize with standard rcbs 223 dies and haven't had any issues yet and I always keep my brass trimmed within specs.