Bear hunting

KRAZYHORSE

Can any of you guys tell me how to go about hunting black bears? Are you supposed to call or ambush from a stand? One place I hunt has a good population of black bears,I've seen them from a distance and I've found tracks and scat but I don't know how to hunt them. It is a mountain wilderness area that has one road running from one end to the other,no other roads and no house for miles. It is very rocky and has a lot of hills,some of them almost vertical! Season is from Nov.1-30 and baiting is not legal.

Sorry about all the questions I've been posting. I'm new to all this kind of hunting and there is probably a lot of stuff that you guys take for granted that I don't even know about. Makes me feel kind of ignorant but I've got to find out somehow...lol. I read whatever I can find on this stuff but I figure that first hand experiences from you guys is probably better than "generic" magazine articles. Found that sometimes what you read just ain't so.

[This message has been edited by KRAZYHORSE (edited 08-17-2001).]

Krazyhorse, I have only called a couple bears and have only harvested one so my experience is limited.

Bears like steady calling so a electronic caller may be handy. Bear vocalizations or fawn distress probably will work best.

Increase the length of your stands to 45 mins or more.

Manage your scent well. A bears nose is it's best weapon.

Call areas heavy with bear sign and thick vegetation. Bears are reluctant to cross open areas this time of year during the day.

Can't think of a lot more. Others will add to it I'm sure.
smile.gif

Thanks for the info Curt,I wasn't sure if I should call to them or just set up an ambush and wait on them like we usually do deer here. Is there any specific cover scent that you would recommend? Finding thick vegetation won't be a problem,that's about all there is
wink.gif