Goose and duck calls

fathermartin

Hey im looking to get a couple of good calls for some Canadian geese and some ducks who makes a good call and how to use them well im new to calling birds thanks!

i have primos the flute one and a honky tonk. also a hs/buck gardner canada hammer. geese are a target of opportunity when duck hunting for me. but these calls dont cost much and sound ok. i also have a couple of honker/clucker type that the kids use to fill in/ sound like more geese. i dont know if these are good or not, but they are what i can afford, and i have called some geese with them.

For a beginner to duck calling you might want to try a Haydel's DR-85 which costs under $20 and can be bought from Cabela's, Mack's, etc. This is a double reed call which should be easier than a single reed for you to learn on. You'll still need to spend lots of time practicing to become good at it.

I don't hunt ducks and geese,but a friend told me that a good set-up is the key.Get in the right spot and put out some decoys right and you can use very little calling and get action.So he says.IDK,but sounds about right.

rule#1 be where they want to be. rule# 2 HIDE! HIDE !! HIDE !!! if i can see you from across the marsh they can see you! my buddys boat has a nice blind on it. THAT IS NOT ENOUGH ! we bring in willows with us, cut more when we get there, its alot of work but we kill em when others dont. wear a mask too. ive seen guys get the boat hid pretty well, but then i can see there face from across the lake! my partner dont even own a single duck or goose call. and its his boat ! no fancy deke patterns, two groups with a hole where you want them to land. just dont bunch them up. 4 or so feet between each deke. its all worth it when there right in your face, they dont even flare when we stand up to shoot.