In pursuit of wild turkeys

Rich Cronk

Well everyone, I only have four days to hunt the elusive turkey this year, and my season begins next monday. I am taking an old friend who has yet to bag a turkey, so getting his first turkey will be top priority. We are going out this morning to see if the turkeys have started to strut yet.

Rich,

When calling turkeys, do you go sit in some spot and hope that they come to you? Or do you call to try and find out where they are before making a stand?

RK

------------------
predatorlogo3jpg.gif

http://www.predatormasters.com

ryank,
I have been hunting the same five or six area's for several years, so I know where they like to roost, nest and strut. I always scout a lot before season to be sure they are still using the same strutting zones etc. What I do is set up near roosting area before first light in the morning. If no luck by 9 a.m. or so, I move to the stutting zones. I'm a big believer in decoys also. I'm a little concerned right now because I have seen no sign of mating activity yet. One more week til opening day, so I will be out there watching them often this week.

Will,
It seems that every seasoned turkey hunter has his own idea of which calls are best. I carry several with me because gobblers can be real particular about pitch and tone. I called a real nice trophy Gobbler a couple of years ago with a cheap plastic push button type call that sounded nothing at all like a turkey(to my ears) but that old gobbler went nuts over it.

Hi guys,

The turkeys in Nebraska are struttin' their pointy little spurs off. We have roosting areas all over the river breaks on the South and the North Platte, with cropland seperating them. The flocks are quite healthy this year, the winter was'nt too bad.