Bipod for coyote hunting?

Bumrush

I have an Ar 15 that I will be using for coyote hunting and I would like to put a bipod on it for stand shooting, What are my options and how do mount them to the gun? I will be putting a picatinni rail on it.

Depending on your position while on a stand, there are various lengths of bipods...Most are attached to a sling attachment button on the forearm...Most standard AR hand guards need to have the attachment button installed, since it is not normally an included item...

THIS is a link to one on Brownell's website to indicate what I'm referencing...

Once installed, normally the bipod attaches to it..

A lot of shooters/hunters prefer to use shooting sticks over a bipod due the the problems if you need to move the weapon in a hurry, as sometimes, the legs of the bipod get caught in adjacent grass, brush, etc...

I'm new to using shooting sticks. I recently purchased some Stoney Point sticks that self deploy. So far, I like them okay. However, once or twice this morning when picking them up from being deployed into the ground (so that I could reposition them), the sticks separated on me, making a clanking noise when the bottom section finally released from the soft ground.

I don't like the idea of attaching a bipod to my AR due to the increased weight. As it is, she weighs 9 pounds without one, and it's only 18"....

Turtle I noticed that you must drill a hole to use that swivel, not sure if Im willing to drill holes in my rail system. I was thinking that a bipod would work better since it would be attached to the firearm instead of having to hold shooting stix and the gun at the same time.