A truly special day

SnowmanMo

Administrator
Staff member
I have been hunting with my friend Mark now for several years. We have had our ups and downs in predator hunting, but in recent years we have been steadily improving. We have seen a lot together out in the desert. So I was intrigued when Mark told me that he had an odd request. He asked if I would be willing to take his mom hunting with us while she was out visiting for the holidays from New York. It really made me happy that he asked, I love taking people out for their first time, and what an honor to take my good friends mom out to see what we do on the weekends. I had no idea what kind of special day it would be.

We met and got Mark's mom Janet, outfitted in some ill fitting camo, and got her gunned up with a 12 gauge Mossberg. We had such a great time talking on our drive out to our hunting area. We explained to her how we hunted, and what to do on the stands. She soaked it up like a sponge. We arrived at our area at dawn, and no sooner had we turned off the highway (literally 100 yards), and we spot a coyote running out away from us. Mark tried to get a drop on it, but it was too far away. Janet was very excited to get to see a coyote, and so soon into our hunt. I had to take it as a good omen. We continued in, and another coyote bolted away from us. I figured that the hunting gods would not appreciate us thumbing our noses at them, so we threw out a stand. Nothing showed up so we continued up into the hills.