Barnes bullets for 22-250 question...

wilee.wade

I am just getting into reloading and have a lot to learn so I appreciate any and all advice. I am excited to build a load for my 22-250. It shoots well with factory ammo but can't wait to see what it does with hand loads. My question is, how have you guys found the 53 grain Barnes TSX bullets to work in a 22-250. There is a big warning from Barnes that they need to be used in a 1 in 12" twist or faster. My rifle is a 1 in 14". I really like the performance of the TSX in .280 ackley for elk and would like to use them for coyotes too. What have you guys seen? Do I need to stick with the 50 grain or lighter bullets for top performance?

Thank you in advance for the advice.

Wade

If Barnes says they need a 1-12", I'd follow that advice. I really like the TSX also, but they are longer than a typical bullet of the same weight, therefore they need a faster twist. You might get by with the lighter ones, I think they make a 45 grainer. A 45 grain TSX out of a 22-250 would be deadly on coyotes. Probably not necessary to kill a coyote, given their cost, but they'd definately work.

Originally Posted By: 204 ARIf Barnes says they need a 1-12", I'd follow that advice. I really like the TSX also, but they are longer than a typical bullet of the same weight, therefore they need a faster twist. You might get by with the lighter ones, I think they make a 45 grainer. A 45 grain TSX out of a 22-250 would be deadly on coyotes. Probably not necessary to kill a coyote, given their cost, but they'd definately work.

I agree

I live in California where I have to use lead free bullets. The factory 22-250s do not shoot the heavier lead free bullets very good at all. When I had to start shooting lead free bullets I sold my 22-250 because I didn't want to use 36 gr bullets on coyotes.

Lead free bullets and most factory 22-250 rifles don't get along with each other very good.