Two rifles, same load, lucky dog.

klf

I was wondering how common this is. I have been running an Ar with a 24" bull barrel by Shaw for about six months now. It consistently runs groups in the sub 1/2 minute range with the load I worked up for it. Two weeks ago I purchased a Remington 5R in .223. I have worked up a load that constantly produces groups in the .3 range. The load is a Sierra 60 grain varmeteer on top of 22.8 grains of AA 2460. Both have Nikon Buckmaster 6-18 scopes sitting on Millett tactical rings. After confirming the load for the 5R I decided to load a few to try in my AR. To my surprise the load ran great in both rifles. The range conditions were terrible with a constant rain and light wind. I was firing from a covered bench. My three shot groups were scary small but idiot stick here had to get greedy and shoot five shot groups. That opened the 5R up to the .7 range and the AR to the.4 range. I am eager to repeat this when the conditions are better. The only difference in the load is the re sizing methods used. I full length for the AR and neck size for the 5R. Is anyone having the same luck in multiple guns with the same load? Also how much inconsistency will the rain introduce into the groups? Shoot safe.
thumbup1.gif

1002181y.jpg
1002179p.jpg

luck of the draw!!
I have a savage 243 and the boy has a Remington . To get any kind of group we have to keep the loads separate, they both shoot 1/2 groups with there own shells it opens to over an inch if we mix'm around...

Not uncommon but you sure cannot count on it either. I have a load that shoots in 4 of 5 .223's but have to change bullets to get the other to shoot that load great.

Last edited:
Both My 6.8 uppers shoot the same 110gr sierra prohunter, and 95gr Barnes TTSX loads. It is very nice to not have to try to keep different loads separate for different rifles of the same caliber.