favorite coon set?

Jesse lackey

What is your favorite set for coon? This is my first year targeting coon for fur so I don't have a favorite, I'm making a bunch of different sets trying to find what works best.

I am setting my live traps just because I have them already and there is no use letting them set. I am drying them around grain silos, baited with peanut butter.

I am running 4 bucket sets, two with 220's and two with #1 longsprings. I have baited with two different baits, so I get a good comparison. Peanut butter in one bucket with a 220, and one with fish and a 220. Same deal for the foot holds.

I am also running some pocket sets, all in river banks, with fish bate. Some have #1 coil springs, some #1 long springs with non loss springs, and I have even set a few #0 long springs because I have herd they get a better across the pad catch and won't cause the coon to fight as hard, and less space between the pan and jaws to minimize chew out.

Peanut Butter in the live trap should be pretty effective. Just wondering Jesse are you staking the live traps, this prevents a smart coon from flipping the trapping and either taking the bait or getting out after caught?

But my favorite liked setting a cubbie set with a 220 with about half a fish or can or sardines wired to the back. It should pretty similiar to your bucket sets I am guessing, mine were always made a plyboard and square.

I personally liked a little bigger trap such as 1 1/2 logsprings for coons, just because those big ones can be mean. I one that wanted to get me bad, literally charging me from one side of the circle to when the chain took hold. I have caught them on 1s and I think it was 1/2s before so it should be a problem.

Also, In my experience coons like fresh bait better, seems like possums like old rotten really stinky bait.

Best of luck to you and talk pictures, and let us know how you are doing!!

I don't stake the livetraps. But I place them in ways that they can't really be overturned.