Loading ??'s for My "new to me" 44 Mag.

Originally Posted By: JonathanH110/WW296 is the powder for cast 44mag bullets!!! go to cast bullets.com and ask what they are using....99.9% H110!

How many using H110/W296 with cast bullets are using gas checks?

I am not an expert but I have read a lot. I have read on castboolits some, and even am a member there, but I have yet to cast a bullet.

I have read quite a bit on the topic and I know that at the velocities H110/W296 is going to produce, you will get leading. Unless they are using a particularly hard alloy perhaps, or a gas check.

I use H110, but for jacketed bullets. For the cast bullets I load, I used W231, H longshot, red dot etc.

So I think H110 would be fine for cast bullets, but you'd need a gas check. I'd research it first.

One article I read stated that a Bullet too small for the Barrel is what causes leading? He said that by getting the correct bullet size for the barrel was paramount to reduce leading? Thats why Im asking and reading prior to purchase..

check your cylinder mouths also if your barrel slugs at .430 and you buy bullets sized .431 but your cylinder slugs at .428 then it will still size the bullet down before it get in the barrel and can still cause you problems. Alot of people are just concerned with bore size in a revolver for cast bullets but the bullet has to go thru the cylinder before it gets to the barrel. Alot of Ruger 45 colts had this problem and some of the 44-40's, haven't seen it to much in the 44mags but it does happen.

Originally Posted By: mark shubertAlloy (hardness) also has a lot to do with leading issues.
Mark
+1

Big difference between: lead, Lyman 90-5-5, pure wheel weights, linotype, etc.

Jack