Nikon buckmaster vs. monarch?

1trkyhntr

I have a 3x9x40 buckmaster on one of my rifles now and I like it. I have never owned a monarch, so I don't know how they compare in brightness and clarity.
The monarch is about $150.00 more, is it worth it? I hunt until the very last light, so brightness is very important. I know the buckmaster claims 92% light transmission and the monarch 95%, but can you really see the difference?
Thanks

I own 2 nikon monarch 4-16 mil dot and a buddy of mine has a buckmaster 4.5-14 mil dot and i was looking through his at the range then looked through mine and there was quit a bit of difference. I was looking at 200 yards at our targets. his scope really wasnt as clear as mine. I love my monarchs. I found mine on the net for 360. so they can be found at a good price.

To me the buckmaster looks better at closer ranges, but the Monarch looks better at longer ranges, but IMO I was hard pressed to tell a big difference.

I even compared the Prostaff 3-9X40 and Monarch 3-9x40 side by side day/night and everything in between and didn't not see a big difference, very litte in fact.

The Monarch excelled in tracking and repeatability, but I have not compared (don't own one) the new Prostaff w/ the fingure turrets & 98% light transmission.

PS: There are many discussions about light transmision/eye pupil which you can perform a search by using the PM search engine and learn (better understanding) a little more about it.

Ok, please keep the buckmaster/monarch comparisons coming, but now I have a new twist.... I have found a used but like-new monarch 3.3x10x44 AO Ucc for $215.00. Anyone own this scope and how does it compare?
Is it too much scope for 200yd max, what about the AO, is there an advantage/disadvantage to that? The seller says that it is a duplex, is that the same as nikoplex?
I know that I'm asking for a lot of info, this scope will go on my ordered, but not yet received RRA 20" PP.

UCC = Ultra Clear Coat

AO= Adjustable Objective