internet firearm experts

LWILLIAMS

It seems to me that we are getting more and more internet experts that repeat things they hear at the local gunshop as facts. A lot of this misinformation does nothing more than confuse the newer guys to the sport. Just because your moms boyfriends sisters uncle says something about x rifle does not make it a fact. I encourage everyone to go out and look through a lot of scopes sit behind different rifles and talk to actual knowledgeable people before they start arguing "facts" they know little to nothing about.

I am not an expert by no means but I have been behind a lot if sticks and glass from the bottom end up to the top as well as having a gunsmith friend who knows a thing or two about guns that I can ask if I don't know instead of making things up.

Originally Posted By: getfoxyCertain thread in particular that you have in mind?

Guess I'll have to agree with Foxy, whats your point? I kinda go with believe half of what I see and non of what I hear.

Given the time I could go through probably %75 of threads and pick out where someone is stating something as a fact and they couldn't be farther from the truth. When people do this we are not helping the new shooters as they do not know what is correct and they read these threads to learn. I knew I was gonna catch some flak for this post, but I feel we should be doing our best to educate the new shooters not just fill them full of misinformation.

I'm not giving ya flak. I agree there's alot of bs out there. That's why I only try to help on things I have experience with. If someone is asking bout custom bbls, blueprinting an action, 0 freebore I won't touch the thread.

I just thought there was maybe one post in particular you had in mind.