RUGER 77/22 HORNET RANGE REPORT

Ricky Bobby

I'm finally getting around to punching some paper with my Hornet handloads that I've worked up. Keep in mind that this is the very first load I've ever worked up for my Hornet, and that I'm completely new to reloading in general! My load consist of 12.3gr of Lil' Gun with a Hornady 35gr V-max bullet and a CCI small pistol primer in Winchester brass. I have posted 2 pictures of the same group, but put a quarter with one for a size comparison. The group measured .892 with my caliper and I'm getting lots of groups averaging this size. I'm shooting at a distance of 100yards and I'm shooting off sandbags across the rack of my fourwheeler. Man, I've got to get me a good shooting bench! I know my groups would tighten up some if I was shooting off a good bench. I shot a nice big male coyote back in March with this same load and he run about 40yards and piled up! I believe I posted it, also. I just can't make up my mind if I should play around with this load or not! I am completely satisfied with it for hunting and calling purposes, but I'm always asking myself if it can be a little better. I guess that's part of reloading! Hope that you enjoy, thanks!
IMG_2139.jpg
IMG_2140.jpg

I think your Ruger .22 Hornet is a shooter!!! I'm still working on mine to get it straight. Here's a write up I did .... I'm going to free float her here shortly and put in a Timney sear and sear spring and see if that helps out my cause... But great job for being a newbie at reloading!!!

Ricky, may I offer you some advise?

I killed quite a few coyotes with the 40g Speer Sp. This is a high velocity bullet and the shape of the bullet will allow you to touch the lands while still using the ruger magazine.

You will be very happy with how the 40g speer punches holes through shoulders, ribs, spine, and hip joints on quartering shots. Also, the price will not break the bank.