25-06 Antelope bullet recommendation?

bowhunt32

I'm new to this caliber and my only experience in killing an antelope was with muzzle loader. I bought a 25-06 last year, and put together a RL22 and Barnes 100g TTSX when I got it. The load I have shoots awesome, but I'm concerned that its a bit stout for an antelope. So what are your all thoughts, go with the load I have or build another. If build another what bullet do you recommend.

I will say I have tried balistic tips in a variety of other calibers and I won't be going there.

Last edited:
I think it will be perfect. It will blow clear through and probably not leave a terrible exit wound either.

Originally Posted By: KrankieSounds like you are ready for antelope to me.I'd stay with what works.

+1

I would be very surprised if that load out treats you poorly.

Chupa

I have only shot two antelope but I was a bit surprised at how fast they went down (maybe others have had different results).

I have shot deer that were soundly hit in the vitals but still traveled 75-150 yards before going down. Antelope on the other hand to seem to pile up a bit quicker IMHO.

I think you are set to go.

I would like to work up a Barnes load for my 243, but the cost of 65 cents per bullet (not including primer and powder) might give me a nosebleed at the shooting range.

Originally Posted By: CalCoyoteI have only shot two antelope but I was a bit surprised at how fast they went down (maybe others have had different results).

I have shot deer that were soundly hit in the vitals but still traveled 75-150 yards before going down. Antelope on the other hand to seem to pile up a bit quicker IMHO.

I think you are set to go.

I would like to work up a Barnes load for my 243, but the cost of 65 cents per bullet (not including primer and powder) might give me a nosebleed at the shooting range.