Sizing Die setup for an AR-15

SDCoyoteCaller

Guys, I have been reloading for bolt guns for over 17 years now, but I have never reloaded for an AR. I have read the Sierra manual's section on reloading for an AR, and feel comfortable with the specifics you need to be mindful of. I do have one question though. When setting up your full length resizing die, how far back do you bump the shoulder to ensure reliable function in the AR-15? Thanks.

Set your FL die to bottom out on your shell holder. Your brass should function in any chamber then.
Neck sizing dies are usually set for bumping shoulders back, and that's more often used for brass in a bolt gun.

Last edited:
Hey guys,

Thanks for the answers. I was kind of looking more for a specific number. I use the Hornady headspace gauge to set-up my dies, and in my bolt guns I move the shoulder back .002" or so, usually. Just wondering how much to move it back with my ARs now. I was thinking .005". Maybe I am overthinking all this, also. Thanks.

Originally Posted By: SDCoyoteCallerMaybe I am overthinking all this, also. Thanks.

You're not overthinking it. You're applying bolt gun methods to a semi-auto gun.
The body of the case needs to be sized back to function in the AR chamber.
If the case is a little too long in a bolt gun, the bolt won't close and you'll know you've got a problem. If the case is a little too long or the base hasn't been sized back smaller than chamber dimensions in the AR, you have a possibility of the case sticking in the chamber before it seats fully, and you can have the round fire out of battery. Then you'll know you have a BIG problem.
If you're lucky, the round won't fire, but the force of the bolt will have stuck the oversize case so tight in the chamber that you'll have to drive the live round out from the muzzle end.

Full length sizing is the only way to go for an AR. Some folks even go so far as to use small base dies for a little extra squeeze.

Last edited: