Streeeetching out a 22lr.

I tried shooting a .22lr at 500 yards a couple of summers ago as a result of some typical Internet chatter over at the long range hunting forum. I used a Ruger bolt gun with Federal standard velocity ammo. The target was a full size IPSC target. After "walking" in the first hit by holding over, I managed to get 8 out of 10 hits on the target. Here's the pic: .22 at 500 yards.

Good luck with your bet. I think it is possible with good conditions and an accurate way to correct for elevation.

Last edited:
Check out the info in the rimfire section of the snipershide forums.. These guys are longranging 22lr all the time they will he helpful..
Here is a pic of my longrange 22lr.
2011-04-17_17-34-36_814.jpg

It is a Savage TR 22lr.. I have done some work to it for accuracy..
Here is the 5 shot group I shot last week at 175 yards.
143667413_photobucket_54356_.jpg

Im still new to this, but I do know that your challenge is possible under ideal conditions..

Jeremiah Weber

Coyotex,,, I hope you've run a ballistic calculator for your endeavor...

I just got finished feeding in some info on some variables and if you are zero'd initially at 100 yards, your drop at 300 yards will be 126.8" (that's pretty much a real rainbow shot) and if there is a 5 mph breeze, the bullet impact will be 24.7" to the side...

If you are good enough to get a good 'zero' at 200 yards, your drop will still be 46.5" (22.7 MOA), and that's giving the use of "Hyper Velocity" rounds at 1200 fps, with a 40 gr bullet...

I wish you good luck, but I wouldn't be putting a lot of money on the wager...
rolleyes.gif

coyotex,
I've no idea as to where to obtain a 20 moa base for a 541 Remington. I'd have to find something made for something else and reposition, redrill the base screw holes. Any sugestions?

Anyone?

Quote:this should go down on my b-day...may 27th We'll have to hope for a nice clear day with absolutely no air movement...
thumbup1.gif