.223 SCOPE. new and cant decide

yes cabelas has that scope for $199 now.

not a big fan of the adjustable deal on the front of the scope. whats that for anyway. i used to the fixed position of a leopold type. i'm used to a gun that has a leopold vari-x III and it doesnt have any of those adjustments.

is 9x enough power for a .223?

that 2X10 weaver does look nice but i'm not sure how i would get my $140 back out of cabelas.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: coyotexBuy that grand slam for 225 in the classifieds,,,thatll do.

X

i'm sure its nice but no to the 6-18 i dont need that much power

i'm not sure about too many others, but i run a few nikon buckmasters and the seem to be pretty bright and clear for what you pay. had a friend look through them too, now he has a couple of them.

to answer your other question, the adustable dial on the front/side of the scope is to adjust the objective focus of the scope. i'm not an expert so all i know is that it is a focus element for higher power scopes.

Originally Posted By: browning442i'm not sure about too many others, but i run a few nikon buckmasters and the seem to be pretty bright and clear for what you pay. had a friend look through them too, now he has a couple of them.

to answer your other question, the adustable dial on the front/side of the scope is to adjust the objective focus of the scope. i'm not an expert so all i know is that it is a focus element for higher power scopes.

do most scopes have this adjustment on the front?
is it something that need to be adjusted for diifernt yardage?
how do you put scope covers on and how does that all work?

ok so i did some playing around with a 3x9(tasco on a .22) and that 6x18 cabelas i have.heres what i came up with see if i'm correct.

3x9 should be good for rabbit type objects up to about 250 yards.

coyotes up to about 350 yards.