Magazine??'s Alum. vs. Steel & Curved vs. Straight

As some of you have guessed by now I am new to the AR style of rifle and have been asking a lot of questions and everyone has been very good and knowledgable in answering, so I have yet another set of questions. Been looking at various magazine brands and would like to know if you prefer the Aluminum or Stainless Steel magazine and is there an advantage to a curved magazine versus a straight magazine. I am looking at 20 round mags and they come in both types of material and straight or curved as well. Advantages/disadvantages to one over the other?? Thanks....again.

In 14 years of shooting military ARs, the best magazines I ever used are the plastic Magpulls. I'm use to a jam or two while practicing/qualifying but had no troubles at all with the plasic mags. I have never shot a civilian AR, but that is about to change. I would imagine the plastic is beter than steel or alluminum in the civilian models as well.

Originally Posted By: 204GunnerIn 14 years of shooting military ARs, the best magazines I ever used are the plastic Magpulls. I'm use to a jam or two while practicing/qualifying but had no troubles at all with the plasic mags. I have never shot a civilian AR, but that is about to change. I would imagine the plastic is beter than steel or alluminum in the civilian models as well.

+1
Magpul P-Mags work great for me!

Personally, all of mine are steel and many of then the old straight Colt 20 rounders...I have a few that are 5 & 10 round, but only use them for hunting..

Years ago, I tried one of the plastic (not P-Mag) and had nothing but problems with it, so I guess that's my own prejudice...

I have straight steel and curved aluminum c-products mags and have never had a single problem with either.
I prefer th straight but only because of looks.

Steve