Going through foreclosure...Anyone else? Pointers, etc.

Getting legal help is probably a good idea on the contract end of it.

I'm not a lawyer, but I don't think the bank can come after you for the difference. That's the good news.

The bad news is that the bank will report it to the IRS who will consider the difference as earned income and you will owe taxes on it (and your credit rating will suffer for a few years).

You're in my prayers.

in some states they can't come after you for the balance, in some they can. sometimes even if they can, they may not.

Elks, I feel for you. You and your family are in my prayers. You still have your wife and family and time heals quite a bit. Just stay positive and remember there are tens of thousands of people in this country who have-are-will face the same thing. Most people are one big emergency from the exact same scenario. You sound like a great guy who is honest and has character. Keep your chin up, get a lawyer, and remember that things could be both better or worse, just keep your attitude pointed in the direction you want to go. There's a lot of good books out there for times like this: Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill is a really good one. I'd be more than happy to mail it to you to borrow and you can mail it back when you are finished. Also, The Secret (I don't remember the author). Good stuff to help get you headed toward success again and overcoming life's problems. My father went though a similar situation when I was in middleschool and he made me read books like this when I was a kid and give him book reports. It has helped me see the best in a lot of situations that appeared just the opposite. Sounds like a bunch of fluff, but attitude and perspective can change quite a bit.

Elks, I'll second the motion, talk to a lawyer.