.357 magnum loads and which primers?

Ricky Bobby

OK guys, I'm wanting to work a load for my .357 mag pistol and have decided on using H110 powder and load with Hornady 158gr XTP bullets into new Winchester brass. My problem is I hate to go buy more primers when I have quite a few CCI 500 small pistol primers above the bench. The book recommends small pistol magnum primers and I need to know what results I'd get using the standards? Would it be a safety issue? I would never switch from a standard to magnum, but wondered if it would be safe to go from a magnum to a standard? Would you notice a big difference? Again, I'm fairly new to this. Just trying to avoid having all these components build up around the bench when I can possibly use the same ones for multiple loads and guns. Thanks

Sorry Ricky,,, I've loaded a bunch of .38 spl, but never any .357 Mags.... We always carried and trained with factory loads in ours...

I think the worst that could happen would be that some of the powder might not get burned completely and leave a bunch of residue in the barrel/cylinder...

I know that in our match revolvers (.38) for the police pistol team, we used to load some of the rounds really light for specific distance shooting, with almost no recoil, on the PPC course and everything got really dirty a lot quicker...

Because I have 10k small Federal pistols primers thats what I use in my 38 and 357 loads. No problems at all. But I am using Power Pistol until it runs out them using W231 afterward.

I guess that what I'm getting from you guys is that it will probably work but I just might not get the best results. Been doing some reading and apparently H110 is a slow burner compared to some of the others. My choice of powder is really where the problem exist. Other, faster burning powders probably would go better with the standard primers!