Florida coyotes

badcompany

any other fellow Florida coyote hunters...I know you guys up North dont think about Florida as being full of coyotes, but theres tons of them here!!!!!

Where you at in Florida?

I'm way north just below the Georgia line. Another one here about 30 - 40 miles south of me, and one way over around Pensacola taht I've run across.

Im in
Tallahassee, hunt alot in Cario,and the Bainbridge Ga. Area. Im just getting started with coyote hunting got a Foxpro Fury. Shot at one, wasnt ready for others but im learning fast!!!

North of Lake City myself.

Check with watermelon growers in your neck of the woods. Little known fact, coyotes love watermelon too. They will chew a hole in the rind and eat the heart out of them... by the hundreds over the course of the growing season. Melon growers have no use for yotes either.

(I wonder if Rudy could turn me a call and voice it watermelon?)

Last edited:
I thought I was the only one on here, glad to see a couple other Florida boys. I have been at it for a few years, still no yotes, but plenty of bobcats and foxes.

I'm outside the Tampa area and have property outside the Cedar Key area, midstate. I've only been at them a couple years, but I'm learning quickly. I've killed quite a few so far and there are TONS of them here. Several years ago the Tampa International Airport had to hire a trapper because there were so many running across runways and there was concern, especially for the smaller planes. A newspaper article followed up a month or two later and the trapper claimed to have taken something like 60-70 coyotes and figured he had less than half.

I'm in Pace, between Milton and Pensacola. Just got well enough to start hunting them. Have a couple of areas up by the Alabama line that are having a problem. Will be after em real soon.

Has anyone been hunting the Eglin AFB or Blackwater forest?
OB