advice on 22-250 ammo needed

kennedy3627

I have a remington 700 sps varmint 22-250. I have been reloading for a few years for several guns. Most of the time I have found a load that shoots well without trying too many different loads. I am now trying to work up a load for this 22-250 and am having a difficult time. I would like to shoot 55 grain V-Max if possible because the gun will be used for coyotes. I worked up 4 different loads with IMR4895 and none of them would group any better than 3" at 100 yards. I then tried Varget with 3 different loads and had the same results. I had some hornady 50 grain V-Max factory loads that I decided to try so I could rule out any problems with the gun itself. The factory ammo shot a 3/4" group with 4 shots at 100 yards. What would you guys do. I am thinking about buying some 50 grain V-max to try to load even though I would rather shoot the 55's, or should I say the heck with reloading for it and just buy factory ammo. I figured reloads are about half the price of buying new. I will not be insulted by any advice or input.

i have the same rifle as you. 55s would not group at all in my gun. my gun really loves 40gr vmax and 52gr amax. both of them grouped right around an 1in 5 shots at 200 yards. my gun also really likes varget. my load is 40gr vmax with 39.5gr varget and a winchester large rifle primer. average velocity is 4184fps.

I have the same rifle/cal. and have been reloading for quite a few years, using 34.0 grs of varget, with the 55 gr. vmax. very accurate losd in my rifle. don"t have a chrony, so i can"t give the vel.,i am sure the guys on this site can give you alot of info to tweek your loads, most of them know their stuff and are very helpful

I have a Savage 10 in .22-250. I've been unable to work up a load that shoots as well as the Remington 55grn PSP (yellow & green box).